Senate By-Elections: APC Wins in Lagos, PDP in Bayelsa

Reading Time: 2 minutes

SWITZERLAND, DECEMBER 07 – There were Senatorial by-elections in several states over the weekend, including Lagos and Bayelsa States, with the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), both winning respectively.

On Sunday, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Mr Cleopas Moses, winner of the Bayelsa Central Senatorial by-election.

The PDP candidate defeated the All Progressive Congress, APC, candidate and nine other political parties and their candidates with a wide margin to emerge victorious.

According to the official results declared by the Returning Officer, Dr Emmanuel Essien, of the Federal University, Otuoke, Sunday night at the State INEC headquarters, Yenagoa, the PDP candidate polled a total of 120,019 votes to defeat his closest rival, Chief Abel Ebifemowei of the APC who polled 18,947 votes.

Akpan said: “The PDP candidate having scored the highest number of votes cast and fulfilled the requirements of the law is hereby returned elected.”

Meanwhile, anointed godson of Asiwaju Bola Tinubu and former Managing Director of Polaris Bank, , Tokunbo Abiru of the APC, has emerged victorious in the Lagos East senatorial bye-election conducted in the state on Saturday.

The Independent National Electoral Commission announced that Abiru obtained a total of 89,204 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Babatunde Gbadamosi of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Gbadamosi secured a total of 11,257 votes to emerge second.

Abiru won in all the five local government areas in the senatorial district.

The INEC Returning Officer for the bye-election, Prof. Ademola Oremosu of the University of Lagos, declared the result at Somolu collation centre on Sunday.

According to him, out of the total registered voters of 1,261,673 in the district, the total accredited voters was 104, 894, the total vote cast was 104, 405, the total valid votes was 102, 336, while the rejected votes were 2,069.

He said, “I, Prof. Oremosu Ademola, certify that I am the Returning Officer for the 2020 Lagos East Senatorial bye-election held on the 5th day of December Year 2020. The election was contested.

“That Abiru Mukhail Adetokunbo of All Progressives Congress, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and returned elected.”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: