PDP suffers major blow, 34 state chairmen of Sheriff’s faction join APC

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Thirty-four state chairmen of the Ali Modu Sheriff-led faction of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Thursday formally defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

They include Hope Uzodinma, Gbemisola Saraki and Teslim Folarin.

NAN reports that the defectors were led to the APC national secretariat, Abuja by Cairo Ojougboh where they were received by John Odigie-Oyegun, national chairman of the party.

Ojougboh, who was the deputy national chairman of the Sheriff faction of the PDP, said the decision of the defectors to join the APC had been on for seven months.

Odigie-Oyegun, who received the defectors in the company of governors of Kaduna, Kano and Kogi states, described the development as the first in the history of the party.

“This is the first time this magnitude of event is happening since the amalgamation of the party and since the APC came into being,” he said.

“It is the first time we are receiving a total party with all the structures all over the nation fusing into the APC.

“We have three of our governors from three of our most potent states and the SGF to be here and to receive you all, because seeing is believing.”

Odigie-Oyegun said the entrance of the defectors to the APC gave prove to the fact that PDP was a vigorous and leaving party, adding that people did not join a losing party.

He advised the defectors to ensure that they formally register as members of the party at the ward level, assuring that they would be accorded same privileges like old members.

“Fortunately, you are men and women of quality, attainment and achievement, and so it will be easy for you to fit into your proper place and role in APC,” Odigie-Oyegun said.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: