List of Eligible Voters For Bayelsa, Kogi Polls Out by Oct 14

Reading Time: < 1 minute

SWITZERLAND, OCTOBER 10 – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) says it will publish the list of eligible voters for the Kogi and Bayelsa 2019 governorship elections, on Monday, Oct. 14.

This was contained in a statement sighted by Igbere TV on the Commission’s Twitter handle signed by the Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, Festus Okoye, SAN.

Full Statement,

“In line with Section 20 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended), the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will on Monday, 14th October, 2019, officially publish the Register of Voters and present same to all the political parties sponsoring candidates for Bayelsa and Kogi governorship elections, scheduled for 16th November, 2019.

“The events will take place at the Commission’s offices in Yenagoa, for Bayelsa State, and Lokoja for Kogi State, and will be presided over by the Supervising National Commissioners and assisted by the Resident Electoral Commissioners of the respective states.

“From our records, a total of 45 political parties will take part in the govemorship election in Bayelsa State, while 23 will contest in Kogi State, being those who are sponsoring validly nominated candidates.

“As we continue the countdown to the elections in the two states, the Commission wishes to remind the political parties that 2nd November, 2019 is the last day for submission of names of Polling Agents for the election to the Electoral Officers in the two states while 14th November, 20l9 is the last day for campaigns.

“We appeal to all candidates to avoid comments capable of inciting violence and instilling fear during their campaigns,” INEC said.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: