Guber polls: See the governors declared so far

Reading Time: 4 minutes

Announcement of results is still ongoing in many states across the country in the just concluded gubernatorial elections.

While some incumbent governors were handed a second term, there were some surprises in some states. Here is a list of Governors already declared by the Independent National Electoral Commision(INEC) below;

  1. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi(PDP) wins in Enugu State
    Ugwuanyi wins all 17 LGAs in Enugu In Enugu, Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, was handed a second term mandate after he won in all the 17 local councils of the state. Announcing the result at INEC office, Independent Layout Enugu, the state collation officers, Prof, Joseph Ahaneku disclosed that the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, candidate, Gov. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi polled 449,935 votes against his main challenger, Senator Ayogu Eze of the All Progressives Congress, APC, who got 10,423 votes.

2. David Umahi(PDP) wins in Ebonyi State

Governor David Umahi won the election in all the 13 local government areas of Ebonyi State. Mr Umahi, the PDP governorship candidate, was way ahead of his closest challenger, Sonni Ogbuoji of the All Progressives Congress (APC). Prof Frank Chukwuemeka, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) State Collation Officer for Ebonyi governorship announced Umahi as winner on Sunday in Abakaliki. Chukwuemeka disclosed that Umahi polled a total of 393,043 votes to defeat his distant rival, Sen Sonni Ogbuoji of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who polled 81,703 votes to emerge the winner.

3. Inuwa Yahaya(APC) wins in Gombe State

Inuwa Yahaya of the All Progressive Congress (APC) has been declared the winner of Gombe State gubernatorial election. The party polled a total of 364,179 votes to beat the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) which scored 222, 868 votes in Saturday’s poll.

4. Governor Muhammad Badaru (APC)wins in Jigawa State

Governor of Jigawa State, Muhammad Badaru, was declared winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state. The returning officer, Azubike Nwankwo, announced that Muhammad Badaru polled 810, 933 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Aminu Ibrahim of the people’s Democratic Party, who got 288, 356 votes.

5. Governor Okezie Ikpeazu(PDP) wins in Abia State

Governor Okezie Ikpeazu of PDP was declared winner of Abia State governorship election. He polled 261,127 votes to defeat his closest rival, Dr. Uchechukwu Sampson Ogah of the APC, who polled 99,574 votes and Dr. Alex Otti of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, who got 64,366 votes.

6. Governor Abubakar Bello (APC) wins in Niger State

The governor of Niger State, Abubakar Bello, was declared winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state. The returning officer and Vice Chancellor of the Federal University, Lokoja, Angela Freeman, announced that Mr Bello polled 526,412 votes to defeat Mr Nasko who had 298,065 votes.

7. Seyi Makinde(PDP) wins in Oyo State

Seyi Makinde has been declared winner of the Oyo State governorship election. The PDP candidate won 28 out of the 33 local governments in the state, leaving the All Progressives Congress with only five. He polled 515, 621 votes to defeat his closest rival from the APC, Bayo Adelabu, who polled 357, 982 votes.

8. Emmanuel Udom wins in Akwa Ibom State

The incumbent governor of Akwa Ibom State, Udom Emmanuel, has won re-election for a second term. He was announced the winner of the governorship election, at about 12:27 a.m. on Monday, in Uyo by the state returning officer, Faraday Orunmwense, a professor and vice chancellor of the University of Benin. Mr Emmanuel defeated his main opponent, Nsima Ekere of the All Progressives Congress (APC), with 519, 712 votes.

9. Babajide Sanwo-Olu(APC) wins in Lagos

APC candidate, Babajide Sanwo Olu has been declared winner of the Lagos Governorship election. His closest challenger, Jimi Agbaje has already congratulated him

10. Abduraman Abdulrazak(APC) wins in Kwara

The Otoge movement has finally unfolded in Kwara as the Saraki dynasty has been uprooted. Abdulrazak of the APC has been declared winner, defeating Atunwa of the PDP.

11. Dapo Abiodun declared winner in Ogun

APC candidate, Dapo Abiodun has been declared winner of Ogun State. According to the Returning Officer, Prof Idowu Olayinka Abiodun scored 241,670 votes while his closest challenger, Adekunle Akinlade of the APM scored 222, 153

12. Abdullahi Sule (APC)wins in Nassarawa

Engineer Abdullahi Sule of the APC in Nasarawa State has been declared the winner of the governorship elections.
The returning officer Professor Abdullahi Bala of the Federal University of Technology, Minna declared that Sule polled 327,229 votes to defeat Ombugadu of the PDP with 184,281 votes.

13. Aminu Bello Masari(APC) wins in Katsina

Incumbent governor of Katsina state has been declared winner by INEC. Masari scored 1,178,864 while his closest rival, Garuba Yakubu Lado of the PDP scored 488,621

14. Ben Ayade wins in Cross River

INEC has declared the incumbent, Prof Ben Ayade of the PDP winner in Cross River. Ayade scored 381, 484 votes while his closest challenger of the APC scored 131,161

15. El Rufai declared winner in Kaduna

INEC has declared Kaduna State governor, Mallam Nasir El-Rufai as winner of the guber poll in the state. El Rufai of APC polled 1,045, 427 votes while his closest rival, Isha Ashiru of PDP scored 814, 168

16. Okowa declared winner in Delta

Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of the Peoples democratic Party has been declared winner of the gubernatorial election in Delta State.

Okowa scored 925, 274 votes to beat his closest challenger, Great Ogboru of the APC, who polled 215, 938 votes

17. Governor Idris wins in Zamfara

Incumbent governor, Mukhtar Shehu Idris of the APC has been declared winner of the Zamfara gubernatorial election.

Idris polled 534, 541 votes to defeat his closest rival, Bello Matawalle of the PDP who polled 189, 452 votes

18. Governor Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi re-elected

Incumbent, Atiku Bagudu of the APC has been declared winner of the gubernatorial election in Kebbi State.

Bagudu won 673,717 votes awhile the PDP candidate polled 106,633.

19. Babagana Umara wins landslide in Borno

Prof Babagana Umara of the APC has been declared winner of the election in Borno State. Umara scored 1,175,440 while his closest rival, Muhammed alkali Imam of the PDP scored 66, 115

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: