Buhari Directs Acting CJN to Appoint 5 Justices for the Supreme Court

Reading Time: < 1 minute

SWITZERLAND, JUNE 10 – President Muhammadu Buhari has directed the acting Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Tanko Muhammed to appoint five new justices for the Supreme Court.

The presidency announced the development on Sunday via a press release available to newsmen.

The President wrote: “Pursuant to the provisions of Section 230(2) A&B of the Constitution of the Fed Republic of Nigeria, 1999(as amended), I am pleased to request that you initiate in earnest the process of appointing additional five Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria. to make the full complement of 21 Justices as provided by the aforementioned provisions of the Constitution.

“This is in line with the Government’s Agenda of repositioning the Judiciary in general and Supreme Court in particular for greater efficiency, with a view to reducing the backlogs of appeals pending at the Supreme Court.

““Please accept, your Lordship, the assurances of my highest regards,” Buhari said

Meanwhile, President Buhari has accepted the voluntary retirement from service of Hon. Justice Walter Onnoghen as Chief Justice of Nigeria, effective from May 28, 2019.

The President thanked Justice Onnoghen for his service to the Federal Republic of Nigeria and wished him the best of retirement life.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: