APC wins 27 LGAs in Imo elections

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The Imo state All Progressives Congress, APC, has won the 27 local government areas in the just concluded local government election in the state.

The Chairman of the Imo state Independent Electoral Commission, ISIEC, Mr. Ethelbert Ibebuchi, Sunday announced this at the ISIEC, office along Orlu road in Owerri.

While under the councillorship positions held in 645 wards APC won in 636.

While in four wards were won each by Accord party, 1, Rebuild Nigeria Party, 1, Peoples Redemption Party, 1, PRP, and KOWA party, 1.

But according to Ibebuchi, elections could not hold in some wards in Oguta local government areas, Isiala Mbano, Aboh Mbaise and Owerri North local government area.

Earlier in his speech before the declaration of the election results, the ISIEC chairman said: “In view of the observations made in the field and the constraints faced by ISIEC.

“I mostly sincerely appealed to His Excellence Rochas Okorocha and Imo state House of Assembly, to make law that will confer nominal Community status to registration areas, RAs, in large communities without recognized status.

“Which will enable them qualify for ISIEC, wards possibly manned by appointed traditional prime ministers.”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: