Real Madrid Crowned La Liga Champions for the 34th Time

Reading Time: < 1 minute

SWITZERLAND, JULY 17 – Real Madrid have been crowned La Liga champions for the 34th time with a game to spare.

Barcelona’s defeat to Osasuna, coupled with Real’s 2-1 win over Villarreal, means Los Blancos are La Liga winners.

Karim Benzema fired between the legs of Sergio Asenjo and added a controversial second from a retaken penalty.

In bizarre fashion, Sergio Ramos had rolled the first attempt for Benzema to smash in but the effort was disallowed.

Vicente Iborra pulled one back but it mattered little to Real as the club wrapped up their 34th Spanish title.

Zidane’s side have won all 10 of their matches since Spanish football restarted in June.

They head into the final day of the season with an unassailable seven-point lead over second-placed Barcelona.

“This is better than anything. It takes a tremendous effort to win La Liga,” said the Real Madrid boss.

“After 38 matches, you have more points than anyone else. After lockdown and everything, it’s astonishing.”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: