Flooding: NEMA declares national disaster in five more states

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The National Emergency Management Agency on Thursday declared a national disaster in five more states following the devastating floods that ravaged the states.

It identified the states as Adamawa, Taraba, Rivers, Kebbi and Bayelsa, adding that this was despite the ongoing efforts to tackle and assist flood victims.

NEMA, in a statement by its Director-General Mustapha Maihaja, through the agency’s Head Media and Public Relations, Sani Datti, in Abuja, said: “It will be recalled that on 17th September 2018 national disaster was declared in Kogi, Niger, Delta, Anambra States.

“In consideration of the data and information being received, in particular the Preliminary Damage Assessment (PDA) and guided by relevant NEMA policy documents, additional 5 states are observed to have been impacted severely by the disaster.”

“I once again commend the efforts and commitments of all stakeholders, and the international partners for their contribution so far to the success of this operation. This is highly appreciated.

“Finally, the addition of the 5 states declared expands the scope and the needs for the response and therefore called for more support accordingly.”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: