Aiteo-NFF Awards: Glitz, glamour, colour at Eko hotels

Reading Time: 3 minutes

Today’s Echo was at the Eko hotels and suites, where the maiden edition of Aiteo/NFF awards took place yesterday, Feb 20, 2018.

It is another epoch-making event in the footballing history of Nigeria as the heroes of the game were honoured at the Aiteo-NFF awards, which took place on February 19, 2018 at the Eko hotels and suites.

The event has kicked off in grand style, beginning with a red carpet/ cocktail reception. It was well graced by dignitaries in sport, politics and entertainment.

Dignitaries include Governors Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta and Ambode of Lagos, FIFA president, Giani Infantino, CAF president Ahmad Ahmad, and Aiteo VP, Francis Peters. There were also former governors Uduaghan and James Ibori.

Dare Arts Alade delivered a well-toned performance and comedian Bovi was eclectic as MC. Tiwa savage was hot and Reekado was cool. Other artists were Simi, Falz, Kiss Daniel, Patoranking and Kiss Daniel.

The hallmark of the event, which is in its debut, was the special recognition of ‘12 legends’ of Nigerian football. They include popular names like Christian Chukwu, Segun Odegbami, Daniel Amokachi, Mutiu Adepoju, Uche Okechukwu, Garba Lawal, Austin Okocha, Nwankwo Kanu and Joseph Yobo. Former Super Falcons players Perpetua Nkwocha and Mercy Akide were honoured for their indelible contributions to the sport in Nigeria.

There were recognitions for former players who are now sports icons. The highlight of the show was the unveiling of the NFF legendary first 11 team which includes both male and female players.

The awards for the best player went to Victor Moses and Asisat Oshoala in the male and female categories respectively.

NFF first 11:

Ann Chiejine (keeper)

Austin Eguavoen(defender)

Okechukwu Uche(defender)

Christian Chukwu(defender)

Segun Odegbami(winger)

Nwankwo Kanu(midfielder)

Felix Owolabi(defender)

Thompson Usiyen(forward)

Mercy Akide(forward)

Adokiye Amiesimaka

Austin Okocha


See pictures below:


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: