Aiteo Cup: The race for the quarterfinals begins

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The battle for places in the quarter finals of this year’s Aiteo Cup competition (men and women) will begin today in eight different centres across the federation, involving 16 teams in the men’s category and 12 teams in the women’s category. 

In the men’s competition, the Patani Stadium in Gombe will host CAF Confederation Cup semi finalists Enyimba FC, alongside FC IfeanyiUbah’s conquerors J. Atete FC, as well as Plateau United FC and Katsina United FC in Group A. 

Another giant –killing side, Supreme Court FC (who eliminated Go Round FC on penalties in the Round of 32) will join NPFL teams Rangers International of Enugu (five –time winners), Sunshine Stars of Akure and El-Kanemi Warriors of Maiduguri to battle things out in Group B at Kano’s Sani Abacha Stadium. 

The Agege Stadium in Lagos is host to Group C, which has NPFL teams Kano Pillars, Rivers United and Abia Warriors, as well as a resurgent Kwara United FC determined to upset the bookmakers’ conjectures. 

Champions Akwa United are in Group D, with matches at the Enyimba International Stadium, and with Wikki Tourists, Nasarawa United and Kogi United (conquerors of Niger Tornadoes) as opponents.

In the women’s competition, champions Rivers Angels are up against Bayelsa Queens Feeders and Osun Babes in Group A, with matches at the Lafia City Stadium, while the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, Enugu will host last year’s runners –up Ibom Angels, Delta Babes and Confluence Queens of Lokoja in Group B. 

The Otunba Dipo Dina Stadium in Ijebu-Odu will entertain Bayelsa Queens, Nasarawa Amazons and Sunshine Queens in Group C while Group D comprises Delta Queens, FC Robo Queens of Lagos and Edo Queens with the U. J. Esuene Stadium, Calabar as venue. 

The group phase matches will end on Friday, 28th September. The two –top placed teams in each group will proceed to the quarter finals, which will hold on Wednesday, 3rd October.  

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: