Airport Resumption: FG Bars Lufthansa, Seven Other Airlines

Reading Time: < 1 minute

SWITZERLAND, SEPTEMBER 4 – Ahead of the resumption of international flights in Nigeria on Saturday, September 5, the Federal government has barred German-based Lufthansa and seven other international airlines from flying into the country.

This was contained in the list of international airlines approved to operate in Nigeria, released by the Federal Government on Thursday.

The international airlines denied flying approval, according to the Minister of Aviation, Hadi Sirika, include Air France, KLM, Etihad, Rwandair, Lufthansa, TAAG Angola Airlines and others.

Some airlines were however denied approval because international flights were yet to resume in their countries.

They are Cape Verde and South African airlines.

The airlines given licence to operate include: Middle-East, British Airways, Delta airlines, Qatar Airways, Ethiopian Airlines, Egyptair, Air Peace, Virgin Atlantic, Asky, Africa World Airways (AWA), Air Cote-d’Ivoire, Kenya Airways, Emirate, and Turkish airlines.

They are expected to operate within COVID-19 protocols.

Speaking in Abuja on Thursday, Sirika also issued further guidelines for arriving and departing international passengers.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: